Sundays…. My favorite day of the week.

Sundays are my favorite day of the week. First of all we get to wake up slowly because we don’t have to be in a hurry because our church Church on the Move starts later in the am. That means snuggle time on our sectional in the den and time spent drinking his morning coffee and my fruit and protein smoothie and just good ole bonding time with this husband of mine.
Every Sunday we get to enjoy one of our four grandchild “Genevieve” run in the front door saying Mimi!!! Papa!!! And into our arms she comes leaping and smiling :) all ready to go to church! :) This morning was so fun because as she was on her way in she stops in the yard to pick one of her favorite ” flowers” and stops to blow it.

20130428-152404.jpg

20130428-152416.jpg
Oh what joy it is to watch her grow up. :)

20130428-153716.jpg
Today was a crockpot Sunday. ( I really cooked it yesterday so I guess I should say SatSunday Crockpot day. ) I wanted to fix a nice juicy tender Pot Roast with onions and butternut squash and mushrooms but didn’t want to wait for 8 hours on Sunday to eat it so I chose Saturday to prepare it ahead of time. ( FYI….. its a killer smelling it all day and not getting to eat it but well worth the wait! ) I then put it in the fridge for today. This morning I got it out and chose to take off all the fat that had jelled on top ( yay! I like this idea! ) and then reheated it in the crockpot on low so that when we got home it would be all ready for us. It worked out great! I’m going to start doing this for Sundays from now on! It was absolutely perfect and so easy too. Prep work people!

20130428-153743.jpg
I season my Rump Roast with Daddy Hinkles seasoning ( it is gluten free thank the Lord!) only not the liquid. Then brown it in bacon grease and add to the crockpot. Add 1/2 cup of water, then either sweet potatoes and carrots or butternut squash and mushrooms. I also cut up a yellow onion and put it into the crockpot first before the roast so they get cooked really good. After its done I take out all the meat and vegs except the onion and use a emulsifier/blender ( I love mine!) to brake up all the onions and add in some potato starch to thicken it. Salt and pepper to your liking :) enjoy

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. C. D. Reeves
    May 18, 2013 @ 10:41:32

    What is daddy Hinkles seasoning?

    Like

    Reply

    • Kathleen AKA Precious Pearl
      May 18, 2013 @ 10:59:53

      I get it at my local grocery store near the meats and seasonings. Daddy Hinkles is a combo of liquid and a dry seasoning. Sometimes I just use the liquid alone and then other times I use both together. :) it’s really good ;)

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

The Artistic Christian

Art, Culture, and Life - from a Distinctly Christian Worldview

Prayers and Promises

Finding Hope in This Crazy World

A DEVOTED LIFE

Practical Daily Devotions for the Real World

Kathleen's Selah's / Kathleen's Kitchen

Life's Journey, God, Health, Recipes.

Wife, Mother, Maker

Newlywed. Someday mom. Reliant on the one true God.

livinglikelinds

Seizing life three L's at a time!

beautyandtheveggie

Beauty from the inside, out.

A small insight

Sharing my life with you x

HelpsHeart

Looking into the heart of The HELPS Organization

wholegirls

becoming all she is created to be

