Taco Fresco……..Frisky?

My husband loves Tacos…..well, all Mexican food really but Tacos are his Faves. Beef tacos, chicken tacos, fish tacos, carnitas tacos……… I feel like Bubba talking about all the ways to make shrimp….oh! Shrimp tacos! ;) LOL. I know tacos are easy smeasy to make but just in case there’s a newbie wifey / hubby out there reading my blog I’d like to show her / him how smeasy it is.

First I love the Nueva Cocina Latin Cuisine 100% Natural Taco Fresco Seasoning & Veggie Mix brand that I buy at Whole Foods. It is Gluten Free and VERY GOOD.
I brown my meat ( beef, chicken, pork, shrimp, fish ) what every floats your boat. ( Oh my….I’m on a Bubba Gump Shrimp Boat still…LOL ) Drain off the fat and return to the skillet and add in the Taco Fresco Seasoning. Sauté it for one minute then add in 1/4 cup of water and 8 oz of Tomato Sauce and simmer for 5 mins.

While this is simmering I chop up some of our home grown leafy lettuce, and tomato.
I also grill up some Soft Mission Yellow Corn Tortillas to warm them up and put them in a tortilla warmer keeper thinging……sorry, I don’t know what it’s called. :/

When meat has finished I put everything on the kitchen island and we attack it with gusto… we assemble our own tacos adding the meet, shredded cheese, lettuce, tomato onto the corn tortillas and go to town eating them! Now Randy LOVES his jalapeños and so he tops his with those. You can add other things like black olives, sour cream, hot sauce, whatever you want, but I don’t think it needs anything else. :) the Taco Fresco is that good! Anywho…..:)

I want to tell you what my sweet husband said to me tonight. :)
He said ” Yuuuuummmmmm, there is nothing like home made tacos honey……..” then he paused and said ” I cherish you, when was the last time I told you that I cherished you?” :) I said….it’s just been a little while…… I said you cherish me because I feed you good….. He said well yeah but I really, really do. :) I love this man, this man of mine ;)

20130529-231452.jpg

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. NaturesComplete
    Jun 03, 2013 @ 15:44:40

    Tacos are a favorite around my house as well. I am glad you posted your flavoring on here. I am always looking for a way to make meals even healthier. Do use cabbage in your fish tacos? I like that the very best with a squeeze of lime. Thank you for your post. I think I will go check out other posts that you have ;)

    Like

    Reply

  2. thesanctuaryofmyheart
    Jun 30, 2013 @ 13:49:49

    I am so confused, Kathleen. This was the last post I saw of yours. You are not showing in my reader anymore, but it says that I am following you. :( I need to just keep checking to see if you are posting, I guess. I am sorry I have missed so many great posts. The chickens look fabulous!!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

The Artistic Christian

Art, Culture, and Life - from a Distinctly Christian Worldview

Prayers and Promises

Rebuilding Lives - One Hope at a Time

A DEVOTED LIFE

Practical Daily Devotions for the Real World

Kathleen's Selah's / Kathleen's Kitchen

Life's Journey, God, Health, Recipes.

Wife, Mother, Maker

Newlywed. Someday mom. Reliant on the one true God.

livinglikelinds

Seizing life three L's at a time!

beautyandtheveggie

Beauty from the inside, out.

A small insight

Sharing my life with you x

HelpsHeart

Looking into the heart of The HELPS Organization

wholegirls

becoming all she is created to be

